Home EntertainmentMusic Daisy The Great Share New Single “Aluminum”

Daisy The Great Share New Single “Aluminum”

by Jim Merlis

Brooklyn, NY-based indie pop band Daisy the Great have shared their hypnotic new single, “Aluminum,” available via S-Curve/Hollywood Records at all DSPs and streaming services HERE. An official music video – directed by Zach Tavel (Band of Horses) – is streaming now via YouTube HERE. “Aluminum” heralds the arrival of Daisy the Great’s eagerly awaited new album, ALL YOU NEED IS TIME, available everywhere on Friday, October 28. Pre-orders are available now HERE.

“‘Aluminum’ was actually the last song we wrote for the album,” say Daisy the Great’s Kelley Nicole Dugan and Mina Walker. “We wrote it with our pal Gabe Goodman, and it is about self-perception. It’s the feeling of time moving forward and taking a version of you with it that you don’t feel connected to – as if your social persona or personality, some shinier version of you, has taken over, and you don’t know how to be your real self anymore.

“The music video for ‘Aluminum,’ directed by Zach Tavel, is about an older set of twins coming to a breaking point in their relationship. We were talking with Zach about the meaning of the song – feeling stuck behind a version of yourself that doesn’t feel like you at your core – and we eventually landed on this idea of twins with a turbulent relationship. One twin seems to call the shots for both of them and the other’s resentment grows as she longs for independence and sense of self. And we are a mini band stuck in a jukebox at their house.”




Recorded in Brooklyn by rising producer/engineer Torna, with additional production from Gabe Goodman and Daisy the Great drummer Matti Dunietz, ALL YOU NEED IS TIME also includes such recent singles as the emotionally charged “Easy,” available at all DSPs and streaming services HERE. An official music video – co-directed by Daisy the Great and NYC-based filmmaker Edoardo Ranaboldo (AJR) – is streaming now via YouTube HERE.

Daisy the Great have paved the way for ALL YOU NEED IS TIME by spending much of this summer on the road, lighting up festivals across North America including Lollapalooza and Festival d’été de Québec. The busy live schedule continues with upcoming festival performances at Columbus, OH’s WonderBus Music & Arts Festival (August 26), Nashville, TN’s OUTLOUD Music Festival (September 17), and Dover, DE’s Firefly Music Festival (September 24), followed by a US tour supporting The Happy Fits getting underway November 8 at South Burlington, VT’s Higher Ground and then traveling through mid-December. For complete details and ticket availability, please visit www.daisythegreat.com.





26 – Columbus, OH – WonderBus Music & Arts Festival *


17 – Nashville, TN – OUTLOUD Music Festival *

24 – Dover, DE – Firefly Music Festival *



8 – South Burlington, VT – Higher Ground +

9 – Hamden, CT – Space Ballroom +

12 – Pittsburgh, PA – Spirit Hall +

15 – Detroit, MI El Club +

16 – Indianapolis, IN – Old National Centre +

18 – St. Louis, MO – Delmar +

19 – Chicago, IL – Metro +

20 – Minneapolis, MN – First Avenue +

22 – Denver, CO Summit +

23 – Salt Lake City, UT – The Complex +

25 – Portland, OR – Wonder Ballroom +

26 – Seattle, WA – Neptune Theatre +

29 – San Francisco, CA – August Hall +

30 – San Diego, CA – House Of Blues +


1 – Los Angeles, CA – The Fonda Theatre +

5 – Dallas, TX – Trees +

6 – Austin, TX – Scoot Inn +

7– Houston, TX – White Oak Music Hall +

9 – Orlando, FL – The Plaza Live +

10 – Atlanta, GA – The Masquerade (Heaven) +

11 – Nashville, TN – The Basement East

13 –Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle +

16 – Boston, MA – Paradise Rock +

17 – New York, NY – Webster Hall +




# # #

As Daisy the Great, Kelley Nicole Dugan and Mina Walker make folk-inflected indie rock that spans a multitude of moods, capable of being clever, devastating, or both simultaneously, spanning harmony-laden pop to powerhouse balladry. The pair first met as acting majors at NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts where they began co-writing a musical about a fictional band before realizing they could make it happen in real life and set out as Daisy the Great.

2017 saw Daisy the Great make an auspicious debut with “The Record Player Song,” which quickly proved an immediate smash now boasting over 20M worldwide streams and multiple viral moments on TikTok. A full-length debut LP, I’m Not Getting Any Taller, arrived in 2019, followed in 2020 by the quarantine-born Soft Songs EP. In 2021, Daisy the Great teamed with acclaimed indie-pop trio AJR for “Record Player,” a brand new song inspired by their original 2017 hit, available at all DSPs and streaming services HERE. An official animated video now boasting close to 3M views is streaming via YouTube HERE.

Having now grown into a full six-piece band currently featuring Matt Lau on guitar, Bernardo Ochoa on bass, Matti Dunietz on drums, and Brie Archer on additional vocals, Daisy the Great first heralded ALL YOU NEED IS TIME earlier this year with the dazzling “Glitter,” available for streaming and download HERE. Hailed by Atwood Magazine as “a dreamy, inspiring alternative anthem to let our light shine,” the track is joined by an official music video – directed and edited by Dugan and Walker – streaming now via YouTube HERE. In addition, an entrancing “Press Play” live performance video can be viewed at the official Recording Academy/GRAMMYs YouTube channel HERE.

Spring 2022 then saw the premiere of the new album’s energetic “Cry In The Mirror,” available at all DSPs and streaming services HERE. An official music video – directed by San Francisco-based filmmaker Dillon Dowdell (Wallows) – is steaming now at YouTube HERE.

“Our music is generally pretty introspective, and we are often interested in the complexities or ironies we see within ourselves,” Dugan says. “That’s something we love about writing—you can say something small and delicate and true that maybe feels scary to say, but once you put it out there, it can turn into a comfort for anyone that might also be feeling that way.”

# # #



(S-Curve/Hollywood Records)

Release Date: Friday, October 28


Time Machine


I’m Just Another Person Oh God


Cry In The Mirror

Tell Me Have You Been Dancing


I Don’t Wanna Fall



Smile Pretty Girl

# # #




Related Articles