Home CollegeSLU Billikens Hasahn French a Candidate for Karl Malone Award

Hasahn French a Candidate for Karl Malone Award

by Brian Kunderman

Saint Louis senior forward Hasahn French is one of 20 candidates named to the watch list for the Karl Malone Award. Sponsored by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, the award is presented annually to the NCAA’s top power forward. 


French was a candidate for the Karl Malone Award last season. This is the second major preseason watch list that includes a Billiken. Fellow senior Jordan Goodwin on Tuesday was named a candidate for the Jerry West Award, which goes to the nation’s top shooting guard. 


French is coming off a season that saw him score 12.4 ppg and lead the A-10 with 10.4 rpg. The second-team All-Conference pick and two-time A-10 All-Defensive selection is the only active NCAA Division I player with 200+ career blocked shots, 170+ career assists and 85+ career steals. 


An A-10 Player of the Year and All-America candidate, French holds SLU records for blocked shots in a career (202) and season (77 in 2019-20). He enters his senior campaign with 1,004 career points and is on pace to finish in the top three in school history in career rebounds.  


Billikens fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies beginning Friday, Nov. 6. For more information on the 2021 Karl Malone Award, visit www.hoophallawards.com  


2021 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Award Candidates 
* Players can play their way onto and off the list at any point in the 2020-21 season 

Mark Vital (Baylor) 
Aamir Simms (Clemson) 
Matthew Hurt (Duke) 
Drew Timme (Gonzaga) 
Trayce Jackson-Davis (Indiana) 
Isaiah Jackson (Kentucky) 
Trendon Watford (LSU) 
Tre Mitchell (Massachusetts) 
Garrison Brooks (North Carolina) 
Seth Towns (Ohio State) 
Brady Manek (Oklahoma) 
Hasahn French (Saint Louis) 
Sandro Mamukelashvili (Seton Hall) 
Oscar da Silva (Stanford) 
John Fulkerson (Tennessee) 
Greg Brown (Texas) 
Kevin Marfo (Texas A&M) 
Jeremiah Robinson-Earl (Villanova) 
Oscar Tshiebwe (West Virginia) 
Nate Reuvers (Wisconsin) 

Related Articles

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.